Skip to product information
1 of 6

O'Neill, Williams, Hellman

Three American Plays. With illustrations.

Three American Plays. With illustrations.

Regular price $350.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $350.00 USD
Sale Sold
American literature / Illustrated books
View full details

O'Neill, Eugene; Williams, Tennessee; Hellman, Lillian Three American Plays. 

In English and Russian.
Compiled and introduction by G. Zlobin.
Commentary by E. Mednikova.
Illustrations by V. Aleshin.

Moscow, Progress publishers, 1972.
8vo, 384 pp., ill.

In original white cloth and illustrated dust jacket. 
In good condition, lightly rubbed dust jacket, small losses to dj spine. 

The texts of the plays are in English, while the preface and commentaries are in Russian. This is an unusual practice for the USSR, where books in English were typically published for study purposes. This book, however, appears to be intended for general reading by those proficient in English.
The book includes three plays: 'Long Day's Journey Into Night' (1941) by Eugene O'Neill, 'The Autumn Garden' (1951) by Lillian Hellman, and 'Orpheus Descending' (1957) by Tennessee Williams. This is the first edition of 'Long Day's Journey Into Night' published in the USSR. Eugene O'Neill was posthumously awarded the Pulitzer Prize for this play.
The design of the book mirrors the first edition of 'Orpheus Descending', featuring white, black, and blue colors.

Contact form